Alaska's Regions

Southeast/Inside Passage, Southwest, South Central, Interior, Far North

Alaska’s five regions range from wildflower-filled tundra to lush temperate rainforests. Explore Alaska’s Inside Passage in the Southeast, the Kenai in Southcentral, Denali National Park in the Interior, Lake Clark in the Southwest, or Utqiagvik (Barrow) in the Far North.

Alaska dwarfs other U.S. states in its sheer size and the diversity of its geology and topology. America’s 49th state accounts for one-fifth of the total land area in the U.S. at more than 580,000 square miles. From rainforests to deserts and gold-bearing river valleys to the tallest peaks in America, you will find extensive natural beauty in Alaska. 17 of the 20 highest peaks in the United States are located in Alaska, with Denali being the tallest mountain in North America, peaking at 20,320 feet. Due to its more isolated location, Alaska is also diverse ecologically and culturally. Alaska extends over five distinct regions, including the Far North, South Central, Southeast, Southwest, and Interior.


Choose from 187 vacations in Alaska related to Alaska's Regions

All tours

Apologies, there are currently no tours available. Please expand your search.